2011 Mentoring Program Teams

Theme: Energy is Everything

The theme for the 2011 YPA Mentoring Program was Energy is Everything. The project sent teams of talented college and emerging photographers along with their professional photography mentors into the field to find unique and inspiring perspectives on the meaning of “energy” as it affects us all in the 21st century.

Without energy we would not exist. Energy is a internal or inherent power that has the capacity of acting, operating, or producing an effect. Whether exerted or not. Young Photographer’s Alliance invited the next generation of photographers to explore the theme of energy, to discover the powerful forces that shape our world, our politics, our environment, our lives and ourselves.

View a PDF with program highlights.

Toronto, Canada, led by Ozant Kamaci
Danielle Copeland, Independent Photographer
Gabriel Gutierrez , OCAD University
Oliver Pauk, Independent Photographer

Houston, Texas, USA, led by Rocky Kneten and Sofia van der Dys
April M. Frazier, Rice University
Batli Joselevitz, University of Texas at Austin
Peiyi Chen,  Houston Community College

Los Angeles, California, USA, led by Cat Jimenez
Bethlehem Stirnaman, Cal State Fullerton
Esau Rosales, Brooks Institute
Rodjiana Munoz, Orange Coast College
SimonePaz, Santa Monica College

New York City, New York, USA, led by Barbara Bordnick, Jill Waterman and Stella Kramer
Annie Breen, College of Staten Island
Fiona Conrad, SVA Continuing Ed
Jonathan Sosnowski, Art Institute of Philadelphia
Olivia Gilmore, Parsons The New School for Design

Atlanta, Georgia, USA, led by Stan Kaady
Jordan Nelson, Art Institute of Atlanta
Laila Boggs, East Tennessee State University
Steven Ricard, Independent Photographer

Boston, Massachusetts, USA, led by Lynne Damianos and Margot Cheel
Alex Abdalian, Syracuse University
Baoling Huang, Boston University Center for Digital Imaging Arts
Daniella Rascon, New England School of Photography
Sherry Saunders, Savannah College of Art and Design

Chicago, Illinois, USA, led by Dirk Fletcher
Mary King, University of Michigan
Cynthia Lynn, Columbia College Chicago
Erika Johnson, Columbia College Chicago

Denver, Colorado, led by Dan Schrock and EJ Carr
Joslyn Bussow, Arapahoe Community College
Melissa Hadji, Arapahoe Community College

San Diego, California, USA, led by Jenna Close and Jon Held
Amanda McCarver, Brooks Institute
Brenda Garate
Bridget Baker

Seattle, Washington, USA, led by Rafael Soldi
Hanna Reingold, University of Washington
Lauren Riker, University of Washington
Lindsey Wasson, Seattle University
Teresa Meier, Art Institute of Portland

London F&P, UK, led by John Wright and Sharon O’Neill
Antonina Dolaniecka
Claire Huish
Clare Jackson
Helen Mildmay-White
Natalie Halford
Suzi Ovens
Tom Buck

London R&O, UK, led by Justin Sutcliffe and Sophie Batterbury
Aditya Swami
Alisa Suwanrumpha
Billy Rowlinson
Elizabeth Livermore
Irina Ildiko Csapo
Kat Waters
Rob Stothard
Tina Remiz

Glasgow, Scotland led by Elaine Livingstone
Antonia Spagnoletti
David Anderson
Martins Melecis
Michael Byrne
Sean Anderson

Beijing, China led by Shannon Fagan
Daisy Wang, Communication Arts in Broadcasting from Rajabhat Suansunantha University
Danielle Liu, Bodindecha High School
Sam Sun

Thailand led by Dennie Cody and DK Khattiya
Ittinan Natthachai
Kittipit Tritanon
Sarun Deeruksa
Suntud T Talek
Worayot Muang-ya