2013 Mentoring Program Teams

Theme: Escape

The theme for the 2013 YPA Mentoring Program was Escape. This was YPA’s largest program to date! In 2013, YPA organized mentoring for 19 teams around the world: US, Canada, England, Scotland, and India. In all 72 college photography students received coaching from 36 professionals, photographers and photo editors, over the course of the summer.

The project sent teams of talented college and emerging photographers along with their professional photography mentors into the field to find unique and inspiring perspectives on the meaning of “escape” across the globe.

2013 Mentoring Program

Best of Program Awards

Best Team: Nashville, TN, USA
Best Image: Chase Guttman (Team New York 2, NY, USA)
Best Mentee (based on images and essay): Mei Ratz (Team Portland, OR, USA)

With inspirational guidance, my mentors taught me the ropes of envisioning and executing a photography project from start to finish — an experience that has definitely paid dividends many times over. The program helped me to uncover the creative fire within myself. With a cast of encouraging mentees and supportive mentors behind me, my photography has blossomed in a short span of time. The Young Photographers Alliance helped me rediscover my love for photography and has brought an incredible wealth of opportunities to my front door. For that, I am forever grateful. —Chase Guttman, Team NY 2, USA, winner of award for best image

Sponsored Prizes:
Free retouching by KeyIndia Graphics
Free Merit Membership of ASMP
$500 & $250 gift certificates from Calumet Photographic

UK Team Special Awards

Commended Project: Tania Gibson (Team London)
Highly Commended Project: Yang Zhou (Team London)
Best Image: Anna Piotrowska (Team Bristol)
Best Project: Claire Maxwell (Team Glasgow)

It is funny how this program changed me as a photographer but also how much it influenced me as a person. Working on the escape project somehow helped to deal with what was waiting for me in the real life. It makes this program and my project even more personal and important for me. I guess sometimes we don’t realize how much our photography may affect peopleincluding ourselves. Thank you very much for the whole experience of the mentoring program. —Anna Pitrowska, Team Bristol, UK, winner of UK award for best image

Toronto, Canada, led by Michael Cooper and Dave Cox
Christa Giula, Sheridan College
Jennifer Laiwint, York University
Briar Murawski, York University
Madeline Scheur, Villa Maria College

Ottawa, Canada led by Michael Tardioli
Sarah Anderson, School of the Photographic Arts: Ottawa
Treawna Harvey, School of the Photographic Arts: Ottawa
Alison Lacasse, Concordia University
Frederic Sarrette, School of the Photographic Arts: Ottawa

Mumbai, India led by Avinash K Jain and Ian Pereira
Sunny Chauhan, Shari Academy Photography Institute Mumbai-India

Anchorage, Alaska, USA led by Clark Mishler and Jeff Schultz
Deroy Brandt, University of Alaska Anchorage
Xenia Vlieger, University of Alaska Anchorage

Columbus, Ohio, USA led by George Anderson and Tom Dubanowich
Kayla Holdgreve, Columbus College of Art and Design

Dallas, Texas, USA led by Stewart Cohen and Claire McCormack Hogan
Katie Bernet, Southern Methodist University
Sakin Hill, Mountain View College, AA Fine Arts
Melissa Maddox, Lamar University
Whitney Matewe, Collin College
Kate Petty, Southern Methodist University

Kansas City, Missouri, USA led by Mark Berndt and Jonathan Chester
Hayden Andrews, Webster University
Brandi Boehm, University of Central Missouri
Alex Eckard, Kansas City Art Institue
Taz Hall, University of Central Missouri
Nichole Kennelly, Ohio University
Mary Krim, University of Kansas

Los Angeles, California, USA led by Andrew Durham and David Zentz
Kristi Knupp, Santa Monica Community College
Jasmine Shademan, Santa Monica College
Jennifer Lourie Tapp, Brooks Institute of Photography

Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA led by Karl Herber and Lance Vicnair
Dave Bassey, Minnesota State University, Mankato
Olga Ivanova, University of St Thomas
Alexander Just, Dakota County Technical Collage

Nashville, Tennessee, USA led by Chris Hollo and Mark Mosrie
Rachael Black, Nashville State Community College
Mackenzie LaRoe, Nashville State Community College
Arin Phillips, Watkins College of Art, Film & Design
Alicia Piper, NSCC

New Orleans, Louisiana, USA led by Thom Bennett and Seth Boochai
Courtney Kate Asztalos, Florida State University/Contemporary Arts Center
Annie Pennell, University of Redlands Alumni
Colin Roberson, Louisiana State University

New York City (Team 1), New York, USA led by Liz Arenberg and Michael Weschler
Christina Carannante, College of Staten Island
Xiang-Yun Chen, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Stephanie Guttenplan, School of Visual Arts
Erica Price, CAP/ICP
Annelise Sforza, Union County College
Yosuke Terada, LaGuardia Community College

New York City (Team 2), New York, USA led by Michelle Kawka and Pauline St. Denis
Anna Chana Demidova, Hunter College//European Humanities University
Chase Guttman, Bronx High School of Science
Jessica Kirkham, Fashion Institute of Technology
Alex Pergament, Alex Pergament Photography
Peter Senzamici, Bates College

Orlando, Florida, USA led by Betsy Hansen
Sebastian Rojas, Mid Florida Tech
Rhiannon Schneiderman, Daytona State College
Priscilla Whittingham, Mid Florida Tech

Portland, Oregon, USA led by Tom Hassler, Leah Nash and Christopher Onstott
Nick Fochtman, Freelance
Sofia Marcus-Myers, Portland State University
Mei Ratz, Pacific Northwest College of Art

Seattle, Washington, USA led by Brian Morris and Ari Sharipo
Bridget Baker, Seattle University
Charles Cataldo, Everett Community College
Sam McCarty, Seattle Central Community College
Joshua Reber, Everett Community College

Glasgow, United Kingdom led by Claire Stewart
Faye Brown, Edinburgh College
Craig Gibson, University of Colorado at Boulder
Kotryna Ula Kiliulyte, Glasgow School of Art
Claire Maxwell, Glasgow School of Art
Chantel Ng, City of Glasgow College
James Parker, Napier University

London, United Kingdom led by Dan Black and Jasmine Teer
Kasia Ciechanowska, School of Media, Art & Design, University of Westminster
Jim Clarke, The Arts University College Bournemouth
Tania Gibson, University of Cumbria
Amy Notley, Anglia Ruskin University Cambridge
Daniel Regan, London College of Communication
Yang Zhou, University of Westminster

Bristol, United Kingdom led by Alex Acin and Daniel Bosworth
Nisha Haq, Southampton Solent University
Anna Piotrowska, Bath Spa university
Adam Reid