2010 YPA Scholarship Award Winners

2010 Young Photographers Alliance (YPA) Scholarship Awards

For the 2010-11 academic year, YPA awarded five scholarships, funded by our Major Founding Sponsor ASMP Foundation, as well as APA, Alamy, and Jerry Tavin (YPA founder), and an honorable mention sponsored by Photolibrary. Winners were presented at the Award Ceremony and Benefit Auction on October 12, 2010 in New York City.

Please click on the recipient’s name to view the winning essays (as PDFs) for the 2010/11 Scholarships.

ASMP Foundation Awards
Alex Sanchez, Freshman
Ringling College of Art and Design

Stacy Kranitz, Graduate Student
Louisiana State University

APA Award
Long Tran, Sophomore
Wood Tobe-Coburn College

Alamy Award
Haley Flores, Sophomore
Wartburg College

Jerry Tavin Award
Yasmin Alishav, Junior
Art Center College of Design

Photolibrary Honorable Mention
Clarence Baillo, Freshman
Art Institute Pittsburgh

The judging panel for the 2010 YPA awards comprised: Stephen Mayes (Managing Director at VII Photo), Steve Diamond (Executive Director of Photography at Scholastic Inc.), Spencer Jones (CEO at Glasshouse Images), and Jerry Tavin (YPA founder).